Pen Was My First Love

Me and the color wheel were complete strangers once. In FACT, I just about ran away from color as much as I ran away from Hot Topic. I was THIRTEEN!! A noob! How was I supposed to know that it was all just minimalism in disguise? Black was the new white! This was all just a misunderstanding. Who am I kidding—I was biased.

tykeinkblotpng

Manga started it all. I grew up reading monochrome comics and didn’t get into the beautiful color that was of Marvel and DC until well after the fact. If we were talkin’ sagas and trilogies, I assumed we were talkin’ Ghost in the Shell or Fushigi Yuugi—SAILOR MOON even. If you wanted specifics where western comics were concerned, well…my dad helped with that. I bookmarked, studied, and pretty much copied pages line-for-line from some of my favorite authors’ works. So, naturally coloring my inked art seemed awkward to me. I didn’t have the confidence either.

I was off to a good start though! I failed to realize the fact that strong line art meant doing half the work of an illustration. The better the definition, the better the shades and values apply, come coloring time.

I’m happy to say that I now use a variety of different pens for drawing cleaner-looking concepts of paintings. I have some choice pens I always fall back on. Maybe you know some of them?


**COA's, Disclaimers and ETC's**

All mentioned content is purely for entertainment/informative purposes. All links provided for each respective topic are of sites I find trustworthy (a.k.a. safe to browse) with any following content the property of those admins. Any unexpected roads to elsewhere are at the discretion of your own browser/internet provider’s security settings …annnd hopefully a good firewall.

Please pardon me if I am not too accurate with the subjects I post about. I do try my best to stay current and not generalize. Constructive criticism and “Grammar Nazis” are welcome (especially about my artwork ^_^), but no flames …[pretty] PLEASE? If you have anything to add, correct or would like to share any cool topics you’d like me to draw for, feel free to click on the links towards the bottom of each page, or drop me a message here!

Thank you!

~ PennyDoth

Leave a Reply

