Madame Marie – The Painting

I got word about a contest of sorts for a card deck kickstarter, called Flush Fatale. If selected, spoils of the win included a money prize and being a featured artist in a panel of 52 female illustrators. While not selected, I enjoyed the challenge. Here’s the making of it!

 

The art style I practiced, once again, is of Ayami Kojima, who’s style fuses elements of Art Deco, horror and other traditional elements.

 

I started with a rough sketch followed by blocking in shapes for 3 color compositions.

 

Marie Laveau Portrait Color Compositions
Marie Laveau Portrait Color Compositions

I decided on the following composition to work from. I like the mood in this one. Plus I previously worked on a sort of, aqua-shifted painting, so I wanted to go a completely different route color-wise.

Chosen Color Composition
Chosen Color Composition

 

The next step was starting my base painting.

 

Marie Laveau Base Painting in Photoshop
Marie Laveau Base Painting in Photoshop

The Final Version

marielaveaubydawnlawson

 

I originally wasn’t going to do anything with the back wall, but thought the detail would add more to the narrative of Marie’s life and background.

If you’d like to know more of her story, feel free to check out the article I wrote based on this painting about who she was, why I drew her this way and other interesting trivia on My Trending Stories.

 


**COA's, Disclaimers and ETC's**

All mentioned content is purely for entertainment/informative purposes. All links provided for each respective topic are of sites I find trustworthy (a.k.a. safe to browse) with any following content the property of those admins. Any unexpected roads to elsewhere are at the discretion of your own browser/internet provider’s security settings …annnd hopefully a good firewall.

Please pardon me if I am not too accurate with the subjects I post about. I do try my best to stay current and not generalize. Constructive criticism and “Grammar Nazis” are welcome (especially about my artwork ^_^), but no flames …[pretty] PLEASE? If you have anything to add, correct or would like to share any cool topics you’d like me to draw for, feel free to click on the links towards the bottom of each page, or drop me a message here!

Thank you!

~ PennyDoth

Leave a Reply

