Character Design Challenge #2

Managed to squeeze in time to participate in June’s character design challenge. Albeit, I ran a little later than I planned, but I wanted to see it through regardless. SO glad I did. This time around? Sailor Moon!

Meet Moon Serah (문세라)

I wanted to reinvent her look as a priestess. I based her clothes on traditional Korean and Chinese attire. I admit my spin on her name is a tad bit TOO cheesy, but I looked up her name in the Korean version of the TV series and found it just fit anyways. Sailor Moon fan I may be, but it always had this cheesy vibe to me. Blame that on the terrible original English dub of it…maybe? I’m actually surprised that the Korean version existed at all. Something about the 90s just warranted countries to censor this show (and its storyline) to SHREDS. But I’m digressing –SERAH MOON though!

Preliminary Stages

MoonSarahLineartByPennyDoth

Screenshot (156)

 

Design Features

MoonSarahByPennyDoth

I like the idea of her having beautiful garments, since she’s known for her outfit changes. I didn’t want, however, to saturate her with bubblegum PINK and/or snow WHITE, like people tend to portray her. I chose to make pink a very subtle accent and emphasized its complimentary colors instead.

SerahPortrait

I couldn’t leave out the Easter eggs.

SerahStaff

I turned her hair beads into jade combs with pearls. I replaced her moon scepter with a glorified bell-tree. Not gonna lie: I wish I had one of these. I’m a huge sucker for bells and anything remotely echo-ey. I thought it’d be even cooler to give Serah a bell-tree staff.

LunaArtemis

Luna and Artemis. I couldn’t imagine illustrating a Sailor Moon piece without including these two. Since Serah is a priestess, I made the two guardians more wispy, less catlike and based their look on fennec foxes.

SerahChima

The sailor scouts. I originally had in mind a sort of entourage standing vaguely in the background: two or three guards (Pluto, Jupiter, maaybe Mars) in Greco-Roman armor. But this challenge was Character Design and not concept art, so I had to leave those extras out. Maybe I’ll come back and create a better version of this to include other scouts. I opted to design the hem of her chima and the sort-of jeogori shoulder pads, instead, with embroidery to represent her more “immediate” Sailor Universe (Dark & Light):

  • Mamoru/Tuxedo Mask/Earth
  • Chibi Moon
  • Dark Moon
  • Jupiter
  • Mars
  • Venus
  • Mercury
  • Moon
  • Neptune
  • Saturn
  • Pluto
  • Starlights/Deathbusters
  • Dead Moon
  • Uranus

 

In short? This was a TON of fun (o^^o)


**COA's, Disclaimers and ETC's**

All mentioned content is purely for entertainment/informative purposes. All links provided for each respective topic are of sites I find trustworthy (a.k.a. safe to browse) with any following content the property of those admins. Any unexpected roads to elsewhere are at the discretion of your own browser/internet provider’s security settings …annnd hopefully a good firewall.

Please pardon me if I am not too accurate with the subjects I post about. I do try my best to stay current and not generalize. Constructive criticism and “Grammar Nazis” are welcome (especially about my artwork ^_^), but no flames …[pretty] PLEASE? If you have anything to add, correct or would like to share any cool topics you’d like me to draw for, feel free to click on the links towards the bottom of each page, or drop me a message here!

Thank you!

~ PennyDoth

Leave a Reply

