A New Direction…of Sorts

Back after a slew of Throwback posts to deliver the official first post of 2016! I’m starting to rev up with newer art content and am trying new things. So, you’ll see more of my works and projects as the year goes on. I will of course drop a, what I like to call, “Trivia post” every now and then to stay in line with the theme of posts I did last year that were on the more informative route. BUT! Without further ado…

 

PRISMACOLOR TIME!

skull

Anatomy Practice

So I’ve started a bit of a daily ritual of putting together color schemes. Hopefully I can stick with it. Basically this is just me forcing myself to learn the color wheel. Over the years I’ve managed to pull away from my staple black&white line art (i.e. my manga bias) and put some colors on my characters. It is a bit daunting for a minute, until I remind myself “Oh, yeah! I forgot to just HAVE FUN.” If I can just draw and doodle without too much of a care while getting better because of that approach, why not tackle coloring the same way?

skull0

ONWARDS

No lie, I’m doing a bit of personal discovery myself. Late summer of last year I decided to take the reins on my life and draw full-time: a sketch or drawing per day with a new full-color illustration every few weeks; in addition to doing more detailed color vectors.

skull1

skull2

It’s been a slow-going process, true. The best part however is looking back at all the work I’ve done since making that decision and I have no regrets. I’m just dealing with one of the most challenging battles, I think, as an illustrator: the ultimate question “What’ll happen if I stop.” Because I don’t know, I keep going.

skull3

skull4

 

I’m never really sure if all this drawing will pan out or if I can deal with this uncertainty in addition to the instability. It’s 24/7 commitment but it sure ain’t a 9-5 JOB WITH BENEFITS. The ultimate comfort? Professionals of all ages feel the same way about their art. So I shake off the funk and press on ^^.

skull5

Final Thoughts?

People are catching on, no?

Okay, okay! So maaaybe my trivia bug hasn’t gone too far away just yet. But I find it interesting how anymore there are TVs ads, Talk-show chats and craft-store shelves raging about the coloring fad going on. What am I talking about? Coloring books for adults. Specifically flat, paperback books with mathematical, fractal shapes of various forms ready to be filled in with the accompanying set of coloring markers.

randomFractals

I feel a bit biased. I see these ads as a 20-something-year-old and I’m thinking “Why are people surprised? Animators in their 60s are still painting and coloring. Of COURSE it’s therapeutic!” Coloring has never been just for kids, right? Part of me wonders whether it’s not a scam to some extent. I pause though. A woman I ran into at the craft store a little while ago mentioned buying a coloring book for a relative whom was in hospital at the time, expecting a newborn. The shopper asked me which coloring pencils were the best to buy. I told her she couldn’t go wrong with watercolor pencils—kind of a 2-for-one should you want to either paint or scribble depending on the mood. And with little mess. I used a Spirograph one prepubescent time in my life too. But, I mean, they’re for ALL ages. Why don’t adults just buy one of those and a complete set of solid markers from the craft store, make their own coloring pages, and get their money’s worth? Not many adults know of this toy/tool. (Spirographs and adult coloring books are about the same price too…just sayin’ >.>). Buying French curves work also!

I understand it’s a matter of preference.

Another interesting note that my mother and I have been discussing recently is the appeal of meditation in the States lately. Maybe even worldwide? I have much more to read up on about this trend, yet I can’t help but be a bit skeptical, seeing as how yoga, with all its celebrity connotation, pricey merchandise, and thus booming business, has religious roots, if not spiritual ones. I mean, DANG, the first result that pops up when I type “yoga” in a search engine consists of GPS locations and phone numbers. Forget my hometown—WHERE IS INDIA?! Where is the Hindu culture in all of this? Well…you get my point. So I can’t help but wonder about this appeal of meditation in drawing. Is it therapy, meditation, or do people confuse the two and hop on a trend in the hopes of getting miraculous results? No shade or shame. But I’ll stay cautious. I can also see the appeal of coloring something already laid out without worrying about shapes to make. But drawing can be therapeutic too, no?

WANNA LEARN MORE ABOUT THIS TOPIC?

**COA's, Disclaimers and ETC's**

All mentioned content is purely for entertainment/informative purposes. All links provided for each respective topic are of sites I find trustworthy (a.k.a. safe to browse) with any following content the property of those admins. Any unexpected roads to elsewhere are at the discretion of your own browser/internet provider’s security settings …annnd hopefully a good firewall.

Please pardon me if I am not too accurate with the subjects I post about. I do try my best to stay current and not generalize. Constructive criticism and “Grammar Nazis” are welcome (especially about my artwork ^_^), but no flames …[pretty] PLEASE? If you have anything to add, correct or would like to share any cool topics you’d like me to draw for, feel free to click on the links towards the bottom of each page, or drop me a message here!

Thank you!

~ PennyDoth

Leave a Reply

